Short answer
No.
iVisa is a commercial visa and travel document service. It is not affiliated with Mexico’s Instituto Nacional de Migración (INM). iVisa charges a fee to file the FMM-E on your behalf. The FMM-E itself is free.
The official site is:
Longer answer
iVisa is a legal business in the countries where it operates. It is not illegal to pay iVisa for FMM submission help. It just costs more, sometimes a lot more, than the $0 the INM charges.
If you paid iVisa for an FMM-E submission, one of three things happened:
- iVisa filed the real FMM-E on your behalf and kept the fee. Your entry document is valid. You overpaid.
- iVisa filed a tourist card variant or different form and sent you a generic confirmation. You may still need the FMM-E at the border.
- iVisa filed nothing yet and is waiting on information from you, or their system failed silently.
Check your email for a PDF with a reference number from a inm.gob.mx address or a document titled “Forma Migratoria Múltiple Electrónica.” If you have it, the real form was filed. If not, file it yourself at the INM site.
Other sites people ask about
Is mexico-fmm.com the official site?
No.
.com is an open top-level domain. Anyone can register it. The Mexican government operates under .gob.mx, a restricted suffix for government entities.
mexico-fmm.com is a commercial reseller that uses INM-style branding without authorization. It typically files a real FMM-E with your data, so you usually arrive with a valid reference number. You paid for 10 minutes of typing that costs nothing on the official site.
Is ivisa.com/mexico the official site?
No, same as the short answer above. iVisa is a legal commercial middleman, not an INM service.
What about other lookalike domains?
Periodically you’ll see domains like fmm-mexico.org, official-fmm.net, or other variants that try to look official. Pattern recognition is more valuable than a fixed list:
- Any domain not ending in
.gob.mxis not the Mexican government. - Any site charging a fee for the FMM-E is a middleman. The form on the INM site is free.
- Any site asking for a passport photo upload is not the official INM site. The official form is text fields only.
If a domain meets any of those criteria, treat it as untrusted regardless of whether it is on a published warning list.
The scam gallery


Screenshots captured April 2026. Archived snapshots on Wayback Machine.
How to tell any FMM site is not the real one
- Does the domain end in
.gob.mx? If no, it is not a Mexican government site. Period. - Does it ask for payment? The FMM-E at the INM site is free.
- Does the URL contain extra words like “apply”, “official”, “Mexico” but not
.gob.mx? Those words are bait. - Does it ask you to upload a passport photo? The INM form does not.
- Does the page have testimonials, trust badges, or a countdown timer? Government forms do not.
What to do if you’ve already paid
Dispute the charge with your credit card issuer.
- US cardholders: Chase, Amex, Capital One, and most other issuers recognize “service not rendered” or “misleading merchant” disputes for this category.
- Include a screenshot of the INM site showing the FMM-E is free.
- File within 60 days of the charge for best results.
If the middleman did actually file a real FMM-E for you (cases 1 or 2 in the short answer), your entry document is still valid. You are disputing the fee, not the submission.
If no real FMM-E was filed (case 3), file one yourself at inm.gob.mx/fmme/ before you travel.